Scavenge the Stars (Scavenge the Stars, #1)

Scavenge the Stars (Scavenge the Stars, #1)When Amaya rescues a mysterious stranger from drowning, she fears her rash actions have earned her a longer sentence on the debtor ship where she s been held captive for years Instead, the man she saved offers her unimaginable riches and a new identity, setting Amaya on a perilous course through

4

Categories: cultural

Dark and Deepest Red

Dark and Deepest RedSummer, 1518 A strange sickness sweeps through Strasbourg women dance in the streets, some until they fall down dead As rumors of witchcraft spread, suspicion turns toward Lavinia and her family, and Lavinia may have to do the unimaginable to save herself and everyone she loves Five centuries

7

Categories: cultural

Loveboat, Taipei (Loveboat, Taipei, #1)

Loveboat, Taipei (Loveboat, Taipei, #1)When eighteen year old Ever Wong s parents send her from Ohio to Taiwan to study Mandarin for the summer, she finds herself thrust among the very over achieving kids her parents have always wanted her to be, including Rick Woo, the Yale bound prodigy profiled in the Chinese newspapers since they

7

Categories: cultural

Little Gods

Little GodsMeng Jin is a writer whose sweep is as intimate as it is global Little Gods is a novel about the heart wracking ways in which we move through history and time A fierce and intelligent debut from a writer with longitude and latitude embedded in her vision Colum McCann Combining the emotional

8

Categories: cultural

You're Not Listening: What You're Missing and Why It Matters

You're Not Listening: What You're Missing and Why It MattersAt work, we re taught to lead the conversation.On social media, we shape our personal narratives.At parties, we talk over one another So do our politicians.We re not listening.And no one is listening to us Despite living in a world where technology allows constant digital communication and

2

Categories: cultural

Seven Deadly Shadows

Seven Deadly ShadowsKira Fujikawa has always been a girl on the fringe Bullied by her peers and ignored by her parents, the only place Kira s ever felt at home is at her grandfather s Shinto shrine, where she trains to be a priestess But Kira s life is shattered on the night her family s shrine is attacked by a

0

Categories: cultural

The Magical Language of Others

The Magical Language of OthersThe Magical Language of Others is a powerful and aching love story in letters, from mother to daughter After living in America for over a decade, Eun Ji Koh s parents return to South Korea for work, leaving fifteen year old Eun Ji and her brother behind in California Overnight, Eun Ji finds

5

Categories: cultural

Tightrope: Americans Reaching for Hope

Tightrope: Americans Reaching for HopeThe Pulitzer Prize winning authors of the acclaimed, best selling Half the Sky now issue a plea deeply personal and told through the lives of real Americans to address the crisis in working class America, while focusing on solutions to mend a half century of governmental failure With stark

4

Categories: cultural

Interior Chinatown

Interior ChinatownFrom the infinitely inventive author of How to Live Safely in a Science Fictional Universe comes a deeply personal novel about race, pop culture, immigration, assimilation, and escaping the roles we are forced to play Willis Wu doesn t perceive himself as a protagonist even in his own life he s

5

Categories: cultural

Run Me to Earth

Run Me to EarthFrom award winning author Paul Yoon comes a beautiful, aching novel about three kids orphaned in 1960s Laos and how their destinies are entwined across decades, anointed by Hernan Diaz as one of those rare novels that stays with us to become a standard with which we measure other books Alisak,

4

Categories: cultural

Race to the Sun

Race to the SunLately, seventh grader Nizhoni Begay has been able to detect monsters, like that man in the fancy suit who was in the bleachers at her basketball game Turns out he s Mr Charles, her dad s new boss at the oil and gas company, and he s alarmingly interested in Nizhoni and her brother, Mac, their

1

Categories: cultural

Why We're Polarized

Why We're PolarizedDiscover how American politics became a toxic system, why we participate in it, and what it means for our future from journalist, political commentator, and cofounder of Vox, Ezra Klein After Election Day 2016, both supporters and opponents of the soon to be president hailed his victory as a

6

Categories: cultural

Almost American Girl

Almost American GirlA powerful and timely teen graphic novel memoir perfect for fans of American Born Chinese and Hey, Kiddo about a Korean born, non English speaking girl who is abruptly transplanted from Seoul to Huntsville, Alabama, and struggles with extreme culture shock and isolation, until she discovers her

10

Categories: cultural

The Girl with the Louding Voice

The Girl with the Louding VoiceA powerful, emotional debut novel told in the unforgettable voice of a young Nigerian woman who is trapped in a life of servitude but determined to fight for her dreams and choose her own future Adunni is a fourteen year old Nigerian girl who knows what she wants an education This, her mother has

1

Categories: cultural

Sea of Memories

Sea of MemoriesWhen Kendra first visits her ailing grandmother, Ella has only one request that Kendra write her story down, before she forgets In 1937, seventeen year old Ella s life changes forever when she is sent to spend the summer on the beautiful le de R and meets the charismatic, creative Christophe.

2

Categories: cultural

El murmullo de las abejas

El murmullo de las abejasEl murmullo de las abejas , nombrada La mejor novela del 2015 por iTunes.La autora que despierta la historia de M xico y recupera su lugar en nuestros corazones.En Linares, al norte del pa s, con la Revoluci n mexicana como tel n de fondo, un buen d a, la vieja nana de la familia abandona

0

Categories: cultural